New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

All aspects of programming on the Commander X16.
Johan Kårlin
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:33 am
Location: Kalmar, Sweden

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by Johan Kårlin »




Rally Speedway




View File






This is a topdown racing game. If you ever played Rally Speedway for Commodore 64 or Atari, it will feel familiar. I consider it a late sequel, somewhat improved actually and hopefully still fun. It is best played by two players!


I have had great help from several persons: Graphics are made by mopspear (moptec.net). The music is by kliepatsch and played with ZSound by ZeroByte.  


Starting the game


All game files should be in the same directory. Start the emulator with load and immediately run the game by typing: x16emu -joy1 -joy2 -prg rallyspeedway.prg -run



  • If you don't have any game controller, use the following keys:

    Ctrl - Button A

    Alt - Button B

    Enter - START

    Cursor Keys - UP, DOWN, LEFT, RIGHT


  • With one controller, player 1 will use the game controller and player 2 the keyboard.


  • With two controllers, player 1 will use the first and player 2 the second.




Controls



  • Up - Start the race when cars are in position


  • A Button - Brake (the cars will accelerate to maximum speed automatically)


  • B Button - Return to menu when race is finished


  • Start Button - Pause game




Further instructions


This is an open world racing game. For every track there is a certain distance you have to drive. When you have driven the given distance, you are ready to cross any finish line you happen to find. Remaining distance is displayed in the bottom corner of the screen.


Most of the time you will probably just drive the default route by following the road and continue straight ahead in every crossing if there isn't an arrow to point you in a certain direction. But you can also find your own way. Just remember that every time you crash or get too far away from the other car, the race will pause and you will be brought back to the default route.


For every crash a penalty of one second is added to your time. This is also the case if you are outdistanced by the other player. You can only be outdistanced as long as the other player is on the road and driving the standard route.







 
Perifractic
Posts: 511
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:53 pm

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by Perifractic »

Looks great. Unfortunately it isn't working with the Try It Now button on the website. It may be to do with the location of the bin files. Give it a test and see what you think. [emoji106][emoji973]️
User avatar
JimmyDansbo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:10 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by JimmyDansbo »


I believe it is because the assets needs to be renamed to use all capital letters. 

At least, that solved it when I downloaded the game to try it out ?

Visit my Github repo
or my personal site with CX16/C64/6502 related information.
Feel free to contact me regarding any of my projects or even about meeting up somewhere near Denmark
User avatar
JimmyDansbo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:10 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by JimmyDansbo »


@Johan Kårlin which version of acme are you using? Have you noticed that 0.97 was released back in august?

https://sourceforge.net/projects/acme-crossass/files/win32/

(it supports the WAI opcode ?)

Visit my Github repo
or my personal site with CX16/C64/6502 related information.
Feel free to contact me regarding any of my projects or even about meeting up somewhere near Denmark
Johan Kårlin
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:33 am
Location: Kalmar, Sweden

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by Johan Kårlin »


Thanks for noticing! I changed the filenames of the binary files to capital letters. It doesn't seem to work anyway with online emulator. Now I don't know what the problem is. Maybe the emulator has cached the old version? Anyway, glad to see that my error handling works fine : ).

Johan Kårlin
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:33 am
Location: Kalmar, Sweden

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by Johan Kårlin »

[mention=88]Johan Kårlin[/mention] which version of acme are you using? Have you noticed that 0.97 was released back in august?
https://sourceforge.net/projects/acme-crossass/files/win32/
(it supports the WAI opcode [emoji6])

Thanks, I do use 0.97, but hadn’t noticed. Will make the source code easier to read : ).
User avatar
AndyMt
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 3:02 pm
Location: Switzerland

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by AndyMt »



2 hours ago, Johan Kårlin said:




Thanks for noticing! I changed the filenames of the binary files to capital letters. It doesn't seem to work anyway with online emulator. Now I don't know what the problem is. Maybe the emulator has cached the old version? Anyway, glad to see that my error handling works fine : ).



There is 2 things to make it work, I struggled with this, too:

1. Binary Files (and PRG file) have to be in upper case letters - this you have done

2. when you load the files in the source code the filename needs to be in lowercase:

With cc65 it looks like this:


result = vload_host("bg-sky.bin"MAIN_SCREEN_BMP_ADDR);


Don't know how it should be in acme.

User avatar
Jestin
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:14 pm
Contact:

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by Jestin »


Nice work!  I spent the last 30 minutes "just seeing what this looks like".  Nothing speaks better of a game than people getting sucked into playing it without intending to.

Johan Kårlin
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:33 am
Location: Kalmar, Sweden

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by Johan Kårlin »

There is 2 things to make it work, I struggled with this, too:
1. Binary Files (and PRG file) have to be in upper case letters - this you have done
2. when you load the files in the source code the filename needs to be in lowercase:
With cc65 it looks like this:
result = vload_host("bg-sky.bin"MAIN_SCREEN_BMP_ADDR); Don't know how it should be in acme.

Thanks for your help, really appreciate it. I will try to sort things out during the day. I realize that I must once for all get a grip on this.
Johan Kårlin
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:33 am
Location: Kalmar, Sweden

New game uploaded: Rally Speedway

Post by Johan Kårlin »


This was not very easy to solve. On my computer upper case or lower case doesn't make any difference, it just works, so I have to upload a new version every time I want to try a new combination. Anyone using ACME that have uploaded a program that loads a binary file? How did you make it work?

Post Reply