Basic file loads
Forum rules
Post guides, tutorials, and other instructional content here.
This topic area requires approval, so please be patient while we review content to make sure it fits the expectations for this topic area.
Tech support questions should be asked in Hardware or Software support.
Post guides, tutorials, and other instructional content here.
This topic area requires approval, so please be patient while we review content to make sure it fits the expectations for this topic area.
Tech support questions should be asked in Hardware or Software support.
Basic file loads
Hi,
This might seem like a silly question, and I've searched many websites (including YouTube etc) to find the answer but I've found no clear, simple answer.
Apologies if this has been asked before.
I have the X16 emulator installed.
I downloaded the "Invaderz" program.
So, according to standard Commodore commands, you type: LOAD"PROGRAMNAME.PRG"
However, it can't seem to find it.
I have my emulator sitting under C:\Program Files.
Where is the best place to place it?
Where is the best place to keep your stash of programs relative to the emulator?
When you type "LOAD", how do you specify relative location of the program file?
I even tried placing a copy of "INVADERZ.PRG" into the emulator directory itself.
Is there a Dummies' Guide explaining this?
Can anyone point me to this?
Thanks.
-
- Posts: 913
- Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:45 am
Basic file loads
You need to add the emulator executable directory to your path, then you can call it anywhere. Go into your Settings and search for "Environment Variables". In there is the PATH variable, and you can just add that directory to the list that comes up.
Basic file loads
I am using Windows 10 Pro, I have the x16 Emulator in a folder at C:\x16, and I have game files in a folder at C:\x16\games. I have don't have any past experience with a C64 or with the x16 Emulator. I have gotten some games to load into x16, such as Crazy Snakes, but I have not been able to get Chase Vault to load. Could I get a newbie walkthrough on how to get Chase Vault to load in the x16 Emulator? Thanks
-
- Posts: 913
- Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:45 am
Basic file loads
8 hours ago, William said:
I am using Windows 10 Pro, I have the x16 Emulator in a folder at C:\x16, and I have game files in a folder at C:\x16\games. I have don't have any past experience with a C64 or with the x16 Emulator. I have gotten some games to load into x16, such as Crazy Snakes, but I have not been able to get Chase Vault to load. Could I get a newbie walkthrough on how to get Chase Vault to load in the x16 Emulator? Thanks
If you download the ZIP file from here, or get the release build from GitHub, just make sure that CHASVALT.PRG and all the .BIN files are in the same directory, then launch the emulator from that very directory. To make it run immediately, you can just do that from the command line:
x16emu -prg CHASVALT.PRG -run
But you could just run the emulator without argument, and just load and run it from inside the emulator:
LOAD"CHASVALT.PRG"
RUN
All of this guidance is also available, including a list of all the .BIN files in the repo's README: https://github.com/SlithyMatt/x16-chasevault
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2022 3:28 pm
Basic file loads
On 10/4/2020 at 12:03 AM, SlithyMatt said:
You need to add the emulator executable directory to your path, then you can call it anywhere. Go into your Settings and search for "Environment Variables". In there is the PATH variable, and you can just add that directory to the list that comes up.
How do I get to the settings in the emulator? It's not set up like VICE, so no GUI settings.
I have X16 in a file on my c drive called "x16", and I have "Take To The Skies" in a folder by that name in that directory. I can't seem to get the emulator to find the folder. I've been trying to figure out the terminal commands, but they are pure Greek to me at this point. This is my second day in with this emulator and it's beginning to discourage me.
Basic file loads
On 8/23/2022 at 8:34 AM, Shadowmane said:
How do I get to the settings in the emulator? It's not set up like VICE, so no GUI settings.
I have X16 in a file on my c drive called "x16", and I have "Take To The Skies" in a folder by that name in that directory. I can't seem to get the emulator to find the folder. I've been trying to figure out the terminal commands, but they are pure Greek to me at this point. This is my second day in with this emulator and it's beginning to discourage me.
There is no configuration GUI for the emulator, that is correct. And there are really only a couple of command line options.
The one you need, in this instance, is the -sdcard option. You need to load your files into a disk image and use the -sdcard option to specify the image you're loading, like this:
x16emu.exe -scale 2 -echo -sdcard image_file_path
The file types you can use are IMG or VHD. If your files are not in an image file, you can create one using the instructions here:
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2022 3:28 pm
Basic file loads
So it's saying it can't open x16.img. Do I have to give a very specific path?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2022 3:28 pm
Basic file loads
I was trying to use .img when it was .vhd.