Question about Loading UCase/LCase fonts

All aspects of programming on the Commander X16.
Post Reply
Screech
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2021 5:35 pm

Question about Loading UCase/LCase fonts

Post by Screech »

I've been trying to load a custom character set using bvload"customchars.bin",8,1,$f000

I have an entire font ready. When I load that, three things happen:

(1) the text colors get messed up (color 1 no longer is white and the text on screen is red).
(2) I can't access my custom font characters in lower-case mode
(3) Switching between upper-case and lower-case restores the original font.

I'm assuming that I'm missing something obvious. Like I need to set a register somewhere. I'm open to ideas. Please help.

Code Sample: 10 BVLOAD"customchars.bin",8,1,$F000
User avatar
ahenry3068
Posts: 1218
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2023 9:57 pm

Re: Question about Loading UCase/LCase fonts

Post by ahenry3068 »

Screech wrote: Fri Dec 20, 2024 12:15 am I've been trying to load a custom character set using bvload"customchars.bin",8,1,$f000

I have an entire font ready. When I load that, three things happen:

(1) the text colors get messed up (color 1 no longer is white and the text on screen is red).
(2) I can't access my custom font characters in lower-case mode
(3) Switching between upper-case and lower-case restores the original font.

I'm assuming that I'm missing something obvious. Like I need to set a register somewhere. I'm open to ideas. Please help.

Code Sample: 10 BVLOAD"customchars.bin",8,1,$F000

Well for one thing the PETSCII / Lower is it's OWN font/charset. That's not surprising. If your changing colors that probably means your font file is TOO big and you've overlapped the Palette which is just above the FONT at $FA00. If you want lower case letter's you'll have to supply them in your own charset.

Your FONT file should be EXACTLY 2kb (2048 bytes) to be the correct size.
Screech
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2021 5:35 pm

Re: Question about Loading UCase/LCase fonts

Post by Screech »

Thanks so much. I knew I was doing something wrong like that. Works beautifully now.
Post Reply